Self-Certification is a program by which Property Owners can certify that their rental units meet the required standards.
Show All Answers
The Rental Housing Safety Program was created to safeguard and preserve the housing stock of decent, safe and sanitary residential rental units within the city of Modesto by providing for a regular and comprehensive system of safety inspections.
Please call 209-577-5232 or email City staff so that records can be updated.
Complete the registration process
No. There is no registration fee. However, nonresponsive rental properties will be added by the City to the registry as noncompliant properties and owners will be subject to applicable fines.
Online registration is encouraged. Blank registration forms are also available in the Program Documents section above and hardcopies can be requested by calling 209-577-5232. Basic information on the owner and/or local contact representative is recorded, as well as information related to rental units associated with the rental property. Owners or their representatives will need to inspect their units and certify that units meet the minimum requirements.
Online self-certification is encouraged. Blank registration forms are also available in the Program Documents section above and hardcopies can be requested by calling 209-577-5232.
A local contact representative is either the property owner or the designated representative or property manager who has full authority to act on behalf of the property owner. The contact person must be a local contact in order for City notices to be personally served, if necessary.
The property owner can prepare for a safety inspection by ensuring that all rental units are compliant with applicable codes and standards. Housing units should meet minimum health and safety standards as required by the State of California and be safe to occupy.
A sample health and safety inspection checklist is available in the Program Documents section above. The City’s rental safety inspection is intended to ensure that rental housing units meet minimum health and safety standards as required by the State of California and are safe to occupy.
No, the City will contact property owners by mail at least two (2) weeks prior to the scheduled inspection.
No. The property owner, tenant, or their listed local contact representative must be present.
The current fees is $100 per unit.
The fees are the responsibility of the property owner.
For multi-family and single-family rental properties of more than one unit, a percentage of units shall be randomly selected for inspection.
Yes. During the inspection, immediate repairs to correct any violation noted in the course of the inspection may be made. If all necessary repairs are made during the inspection, and all City fees are paid in full, the unit(s) will pass inspection.
Yes. For repairs made no later than 30 days after the Baseline Inspection, a Proof of Correction form may be completed online. It will be reviewed by an inspector and evaluated for compliance. There is no charge for this service.
Call 209-577-5232 to request a certificate of compliance for a unit.